Glasgow – Planning

29/03/2019 by Part Time Spotter

When SWMBO went up the Glasgow recently for business she sort of promised we’d get a trip up there together (and with our lass). Well that got forgotten or so I thought. The other night SWMBO looked over and said she’d been looking at the Premier Inn in Glasgow that was fairly central and we could get a room for us and the lass for £170 (inc. breakfast) for two nights. I phoned the hotel asking about our lass sharing with us and they were OK with it so SWMBO hit the book now button and paid … Job Done.

I did a quick look at the trains from Euston to Glasgow Central on the Saturday in question (making sure we avoided the Euston HS2 Works Closure) and remember I’d caught the 07:30 off Euston a couple of weeks ago to meet her at Warrington. That meant we could get the 06:11 off Selhurst and be there in time for the 07:30 and be in Glasgow at 12:00. I noted this down in my Barmy Trip Notebook and the trains returning to London on the Monday.

The next morning I decided to type up all my trains like I always to into my own schedule in Excel.
OH NOOOOOO!!!!!!!! Looking at the Selhurst to Victoria there are NO TRAINS!!!!!!

Nothing from East Croydon to Victoria. So brain begins to kick in to overdrive … East Croydon to London Bridge (and also St Pancras International and a walk down the road) and then on to he 08:30 and be in Glasgow by 13:00 (all being well).

What we do next is up the the ladies … I have been promised some time at both Glasgow Central and Queen Street for spotting. The Saturday it’ll be a trip over to Edinburgh for a bit of a look around. The Monday will be a trip to Denny’s before getting a train back to London.
390043, Manchester Picadilly, July 21st 2010

Just looking forward to the main spotting locations:
Willesden/Wembley, Crewe, Warrington, Carlisle, Glasgow, Edingburgh.

I just realised it was 1993 that I was last in Scotland – that like TWENTY SIX YEARS! I suspect a lot has changed train wise. No more Class 47/7 on the push/pulls. No first Generation DMUs.

So my dear readers …..

What is the best place on Glasgow Central station to spot/photo from (platform) ?
Is Queen Street worth any time to spot ?
What is at Eastfield depot now (is it still there)?
What will I see between GLQ and EDB?
What stock will be on the fast trains between GLQ and EDB ?

Looking forward to your replies …

Flickr Photos

Pages

Part Time's Photos

Categories

Calendar

March 2019
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other subscribers

Part Time's Photos

Categories

Categories

Archives